Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

League events, important election dates, candidate forums, issue forums, coalition events, and other items of interest.

Date & Time        Place        Description
Friday, April 11, 2014-Sunday, April 13, 2014
All day
Mountain Lodge and Conference Center
755 Upward Road
Flat Rock, NC 28731
LWV NC Council.
Saturday, April 19, 2014
The Hop Ice Cream
640 Merrimon Ave.
Asheville, NC
Ice Cream Social (with elected officials). Sundae Bar, Elected Officials, and more!

Email to RSVP.

(RSVP not required but encouraged and appreciated.)

Elected officials attending include:

Lisa Baldwin County School Board

Cecil Bothwell Asheville City Council

Pat Bryant County School Board

The Honorable Steven D. Cogburn Clerk of Superior Court

Doug Dearth Weaverville Town Council

Susan Fisher NC Representative District 114

Jeff Foster County Soil & Water

Ellen Frost County Commission District 2

The Honorable Robin Hudson NC Supreme Court Associate Justice

The Honorable Lucy Inman NC Special Superior Court Judge

David King County Commission District 3

Doris P. Loomis Biltmore Forest Commissioner

Esther Manheimer Asheville Mayor

Brownie Newman County Commission District 1

Gordon Smith Asheville City Council

Terry Van Duyn NC Senator District 49

Gwen Wisler Asheville City Council

Mary Standaert Montreat Mayor Pro Tem

Van Duncan Buncombe County Sheriff

The following elected officials send their regrets:

Martha Campbell Montreat Commissioner Chip Craig County School Board David Gantt County Commission Chairman Larry B. Harris Black Mountain Alderman Marc Hunt Asheville City Council Holly Jones County Commission District 1 The Honorable P.K. Young District Court Judge E. Glenn Kelly Biltmore Forest Commissioner Gene Knoefel Weaverville Town Council Chris Pelly Asheville City Council Drew Reisinger Register of Deeds Michael Sobol Black Mountain Mayor Letta Jean Taylor Montreat Mayor

Saturday, May 17, 2014
TBD 2014 ABLWV Annual Meeting. Join us for our annual membership meeting!

Details coming in 2014.

Save the date!